Most Active

Help   
  Home

Is auto adjuster a good choice for me?
P:  5/18/2010 11:44:31 PM
stevesmailbox

Total Posts: 2
Last Post: 5/19/2010

I was recently laid off from my auto manufacturing job of 10 years and am exploring career options. Auto claims adjuster is something I am seriously considering and looks and sounds interesting, at least from the outside looking in. I like that it is primarily an outside job and you get to work with different people in different situations. I realize this means working in all types of conditions and weather. I also like that it is something that can be done working for large or small companies, or even on my own as an independent adjuster, although this would obviously require the experience first.

I'm in my late 30s and have really only had three careers. I worked in retail grocery for almost 10 years, so I've got plenty of customer service experience. I dabbled around in commercial radio for a few years, both on the air and behind the scenes doing office types of jobs. And my last job, assembling cars and trucks for GM and Toyota until the plant closed down. I wouldn't have thought of insurance adjuster as a possible career move, until the third time it was suggested to my by different people in a relatively short amount of time. The more I explore it, the more it sounds like it may be something for me.

I've got customer service skills, although I realize on a different level than insurance adjusters see. I am fairly familiar with automobiles as I do most of my own repair work and worked assembling vehicles for the past 10 years. I think I am a people person and am fairly outgoing. I like working with people and getting out and experiencing different things. I am able to work well on my own, prioritize, and maintain a schedule. I am not a desk job type of person. I can do that if needed, but prefer not to full time. I prefer to be out in the field working with people or equipment.