Responding to a crime trend involving the theft of catalytic converters, Gov. Gavin Newsom signed two bills on Sept. 25. The new laws, the Governor’s office said, prohibit the sale of used catalytic converters by parties who aren’t licensed auto dealers or dismantlers. AutoSalvageLegislation & Regulation
The bills require recyclers to keep specific records establishing a paper trail that tracks the devices used to control car emissions, which the legislations’ supporters say will reduce thefts.
Catalytic converters convert pollutant gases into less harmful gases in cars and cost between $800 to $1,200.
‘California is helping to put the brakes on catalytic converter theft with the signing of two new bills. By eliminating a root cause of this issue these bills will help reduce crime and make Californians and their vehicles safer,’ read a tweet from the California Bureau of Automotive Repair.
According to a study conducted by the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB), catalytic converter thefts jumped from 3,389 in 2019 to 14,433 in 2020 â€“ a 325% increase.